Related Articles
« MO »
About the Author
The silly and sleepless Mistress McCutchan, otherwise known in the real world simply as Laura, created Morbid Outlook in August of 1992, while still a gothling in high school.

She is a full-time, senior web designer, DJ, and director of The Serpentina North Ensemble. She is vegan, but not one of the pushy ones. When not on the road or working like a maniac, she can be found becoming one with the couch, especially if Three’s Company is on.
« MO »

Ill | Mistress McCutchan








In Rotation, September 2003
Mistress McCutchan with Kyshah Hell
Monstrum Sepsis – Deep Sea Creatures
Track Listing: B-Spline Interface, Dsc, Rainbow Obsidian, Doors & Windows, Sangine Vexation, Peacewar, Tantric Presentiment, Mirrored Reflection, Undressed Obloquy, Painkiller, End of An Era, mace: Unload (live).
A surreal, electro-ambient soundscape; the female vocals (Tantric Presentiment) bring Shikhee of Android Lust to mind. Don’t be afraid to give this a try, it will definitely grow on you. For more information, check out
Delerium – Chimera
Track Listing: Love, After All, Just A Dream, Run For It, Truly, Serenity, Touched, Forever After, Fallen, Orbit Of Me, Magic, Eterenal Odyssey, Returning.
One dictionary definition of chimera is “an illusion or fabrication of the mind; especially an unrealizable dream”; in true Delerium fashion, this is a dreamy pop album, sometimes dangerously on the edge of being mainstream, but overall makes for a lush soundtrack. Featuring singers Kristy Thirsk, Sultana, and Leigh Nash (with a touch of a Hildegard von Bingen sample!). Not to be missed is the extra disk with bonus tracks and videos (with Mediaeval Babes!) Available through Nettwerk.
HMB – Great Industrial Love Affairs
Track Listing: Initiation..., Wanted, This Fire, Night Vision, Everything, Siren, In The Beginning, Falling Stars, Impulse, Return, Turn To Stone, Information, Might Have Been, ...Revelation.
This album has grown on me over a the past few weeks and is the perfect antidote for dancefloor doldrums. A fantastic collaboration between Daniel Meier (Haujobb) and Victoria Lloyd (Claire Voyant). Available through WTII Records.
The Razor Skyline – The Bitter Well
Track Listing: American Tragedy, Corporation, After The Flood, Rebellion Lost, Run, Dream, When I Know Everything, King Street, Cast, Freak.
The Razor Skyline is an often pasted over Synth Goth Band that has gone through many incarnations over the last ten years. This third album takes the band into a new harder and angrier direction. Many songs deal with the current political situation in the US, including “Freak” which stands out as a great commentary on Columbine. “Dream” is my favorite on The Bitter Well with a big beginning riff. More information at
Bloody Dead and Sexy – Paint it Red
Track Listing: (Come and See), Fingers, Bloody Rose, The Rose Red Bloody Stage, Traurig, Frau Im See, Hey Ho Armageddon!, Funny Sad And Cruel, Flies In The Bottle, Sick Six Minutes, (The Blood or Honey Sea), Fingers Spherical Disrupted Part 1: Phalanx Proximalis, Part 2: Phalanx Media, Part 3: Phalanx Distalis.
Old School Deathrock following in the footsteps of Christian Death’s Iron Cross. This album is full of great poetic lyrics in English as well as German. “Bloody Roses” is a classic. Tracks 1 and 7 also stand out, but the final three tracks drag on. This band is one of the finest European Goth bands I’ve heard in years. I eagerly await future material. MP3 Samples at
The Faces of Sarah – 24
Track Listing: All that is divine, Heaven, Forever Sleep, Second Skin, Fatalistic Warning, ...Baby One More Time, As You Were Leaving, Come To Me, Where No Shadows Fall, Love Me 2.
24, released in 2000, is a stunning Gothic Rock must-have that deserves a second look. Nick’s voice has to be one of the most powerful and emotive I’ve ever heard in Gothic Music. This album of songs reflects loss, longing, and love. “Heaven” is a favorite with its Middle Eastern flavorings. The cover of “Baby One More Time” is Type O in its humor and far better than Ms. Spears’ original. More information can be found at
Vampire Beach Babes – Attack Of The Killer Bikinis
Track Listing: Attack Of The Killer Bikinis, Hawaii Shirt From Hell, Dark Kind Of Ecstasy, Surfing Swamp Monster From The Planet Zon.
Toronto’s own Surf Goth band is back with another classic EP. What if the Cramps channeled Dick Dale for a one-time only Ed Wood movie soundtrack? You guessed it; the Vampire Beach Babes are the most unique king’s of ghoulishly delightful kink. Visit them at or else Baron Marcus will lick you from head to toe. Wait a minute, isn’t that a good thing?
Noisex –
Track Listing: Welcome Acid Kids, Liars, Jaegerdance, Industrial Lady, Goodbye Mein Freund.
This limited edition mini-CD was recorded as a thank you for the US fans. Available only on the last Noisex tour this is a great opener for new fans and a strong finale for devoted fans. All I have to say is Raoul Roucka is a God Damn genius! His music is sexy as hell while remaining rhythmically the best Industrial Noise band of all time, in my humble opinion. Jaegerdance is a silly bit of odd hard driving electronics; “Are you drunk enough?” the package states. As Raoul pontificates, he is the “dist.beat.bastard.on.rotation”.